McKenna, Two Months Young

McKenna will be 11 whole weeks tomorrow :), and I want to begin recording a monthly update as to where we are at in respect of several key milestones in her life. This is her two month update, although she is technically now 2 1/2 months. Next update will be at 3 months, and so on, and I hope to keep fairly in time with these posts, as so much is happening so fast!!

Image

First, I’d like to mention that until Wednesday of this week, Matthew was home with us (minus a 3 week stint in school, which still only had him out of the house for 6 hours a day). He recently went back to work after taking some time off. That time off was AMAZING, and holds so many precious memories for all of us, & I know how lucky McKenna & I both were to have him around – a lot of mother’s have husbands who go back to work almost immediately, and some mother’s have no help at all (you single mother’s are nothing short of superhero’s in my book!). So to date, our schedule with McKenna has been completely baby led as we both had no responsibilities, so our main focus was ensuring McKenna’s happiness, and that she had a safe, secure, loving environment in which she had two adult figures to depend on. Now that Matt is back at work, it is my goal to still maintain a pretty much baby led schedule, but with some additional cues from me.

Eating:

I will DEFINITELY be writing a further, more detailed post with respect to my adventures in nursing later. But for a brief update, McKenna is fed 100% breastmilk to date, about 75% of that has been expressed milk which is then bottlefed, and 25% exclusively from the breast. As of the past week, we have changed that percent to be about 40% bottlefed, 60% from breast (MUCH easier at night time!).

When McKenna was first born, she was a pretty normal newborn, which means she slept a LOT. We had to set an alarm to feed her those first 2 or 3 weeks, and she was fed every 2 hours, sometimes less. Now that she is gaining weight quite steadily, we let her decide when she is hungry, and it works great. She is generally eating every 2 to 3 hours during the day, 3 ounces when from the bottle, and then will go a 4 hour stretch at night, after which she wakes every 2 hours.

Sleeping:

Since Matt has gone back to work, we are trying to establish a bedtime of 10pm, and it is (slowly) working. And as previously mentioned, she sleeps one big 4 hour stretch, wakes for a diaper changing and feeding, then sleeps in 2 hour increments until about 10 am.

McKenna currently sleeps in bed with us. This was never our plan, and is another thing that I am working on changing. Our original plan was to have her in our room in either her pack and play or a bassinet. We tried both of those beds, and she hated BOTH of them. We found we all had much better sleeps when she was cozied up in bed next to us, first on Matthew’s chest, and later on in between us. We have always taken the right precautions for bed sharing, but now that Matt is back at work, we have decided it may be time to transfer her into her crib across the hall in her own room. I have started training her to do so by having McKenna take naps in her crib during the day (which she doing right now). Once we have establish a good napping routine, and McKenna is used to her crib, I plan to sleep in her room with her for a few days and then in 2 weeks time, if all goes well, have McKenna sleeping on her own (but I will probably sneak her into bed with me after 6 am when Matthew heads to work!).

Image

Napping:

Other than the information alrrady written above, McKenna takes her first nap about an hour after she wakes up. After that, her naps are less predictable so I try and take cues from her as to when she appears drowsy so I can transfer her into her crib, but she will fall asleep pretty much anywhere (just like her father!). She never usually naps for longer than 45 minutes, and she can sometimes take a micronap which literally lasts 5 minutes.

Image

Clothing:

McKenna has definitely outgrown all of her newborn clothes (I teared up while I put them away) and is now in 0-3 months for most of her clothing, and in size 1 diapers. As previously mentioned, she was born weighing 5 pounds, 15 ounces, and as at her last checkup on February 2, she weighed a whopping 11 pounds, 6 ounces! Way to eat baby girl!

Playing:

McKenna is growing up so fast! From our little tiny newborn who had no interest in anything other than the inside of her eyelids, she is now learning to grasp at bright toys that are within reach, and has begun to coo and smile quite a bit. She is her most smiliest in the mornings, which always make those early morning wakeup calls worth it. She loves her playmat, (I will upload a video soon!), and is getting pretty used to tummy time. She and her father have recently started playing a game called “left right” where she follows the sound of Matt’s voice and turns her head to side to follow it.. so adorable! She is making more and more sounds everyday and we can both tell she is desperate to be talking more. Just last night she was grunting herself to sleep (cutest thing EVER).

daddy

McKenna’s Favourite Things:

Still loves hanging out in her boppy with mum & dad in the living room, sleeping in her swing while either of us takes a shower, her playmat, trips out of the house (she is SO well behaved), interacting with other people (like her Nanny & Papa), cuddling, dancing around the living room while her mum sings to her (FINALLY, someone who will listen to me sing!) morning time (always so smiley), and her mum & dad.. she seems to save the warmest of smiles for us, that make our hearts absolutely melt everytime <3.

Adventures in Parenting:

I think all first time parents can agree, that the first few weeks of having a newborn are about survival! I can barely remember them to be honest. But I do know that I am enjoying this next stage much more, as I am feeling more confident in my parenting skills, more conviction in my decisions, and I feel like McKenna and I are getting to know each other better everyday. I had a rough recovery following delivery, and am finally feeling like myself again. Matt and I have been taking time for ourselves when necessary too, and have each had a night out where the other stayed home with McKenna. We were also lucky enough to have a date back at the end of December, when my sister and brother in law watched McKenna and Matt & I went and saw The Hobbit. It is nice to have the time for ourselves every once and awhile, but I think we would both agree we love being at home most of all.

All in all, she seems to be right on pace with an average 2 1/2 month old. We cannot wait until we hear her laugh for the first time, but in the same breath, she is growing SO fast!

By the way, I’m sorry this post was so long, but I had to cover the 2 1/2 months to date! Next time I promise to make it shorter :).

love

Leave a Reply

