7/52

*A potrait of my daughter, once a week, every week, in 2013*

*A potrait of my daughter, once a week, every week, in 2013*

Mama Confession: Sometimes, McKenna, when you are sleeping so quietly beside me, I miss you. I look at pictures on my phone of you when you are awake, happy and smiling; & I cannot wait for you to wake up. Likewise, when I look at pictures like this of you sleeping, I cannot wait to put you to bed, so I can watch you while you sleep, looking so innocent, so quiet, so calm.

It is safe to say that I just cannot get enough of you.

There are so many precious moments I do not want to forget, McKenna. Such as this one: sometimes, right before you fall asleep, you get a little fussy, as if you just can’t get quite comfortable enough. When this happens, I hold my hand out a few inches in front of your face. You then take your tiny little baby fingers and play with my mine, and it calms you. Sometimes you even pull my hand down so that it is resting on your cheek, and you then peacefully drift into a calm, content state of sleep, looking as though you do not have a care in the world.

I promise McKenna, that whenever you are having a hard time in life, I will offer my hand to you like this whenever you need me.

It is the little moments like this, the moments filled with so much love and tenderness, I do not ever want to forget.

I love you forever.

52

Leave a Reply

