Six Months <3

Today you are six months old. How did we get here? It seems like just yesterday; just yesterday when you were placed on my chest, a tiny little newborn baby, 3 weeks premature but as healthy as babies can come. It seems like just yesterday when nursing was a struggle; and we almost gave up every single day. It seems like just yesterday when you had your days and nights mixed up; and we struggled to establish a bedtime routine with you. It seems like just yesterday when your father was home fulltime; was home with us for those glorious 2 months allowing us all to get to know each other easier, by helping to lessen the load.

Look how far we have come. You are now my (approximate; next doctor’s appointment is Monday) 18 pound, bright blue-eyed, healthy healthy little girl. Nursing like a champ and sleeping like one too – most of the time. Eating solids every day, and loving (almost) every second. Discovering your voice more and more, enjoying the amazing sounds that come out of your mouth. You have mastered the log roll and make your way across the living room in a blink of an eye. You are days away from full-out crawling – something I am NOT quite ready for.

Being your mother has meant less nights out; but more quiet nights in. Less space in our bed; but more cherished cuddly moments. Broken up sleep; but a ton of snuggly naps. Less date nights; but more family days. Double the laundry; but triple the love.

My heart is happy. You are such a gift – you make your father and I so proud to call you ours. I don’t know what we did to deserve you, but I tell ya, we really hit the baby jackpot on this one.

I will be doing your monthly update tomorrow – today, I am almost finding myself at a loss for words. I am overcome with emotion about how fast these past 6 months have gone. I look forward to many more months of loving you, McKenna. I am SO PROUD to be your mother, and I cherish every single moment we have shared.

You are the most beautiful thing that has ever happened to me. I love you with my whole heart./

6months

Leave a Reply

