8 months (and a week)

Another late post! McKenna turned 8 months on the 1st, but due to general busyness around here and an emergency dental surgery, her 8 month update fell by the way side unfortunately. But here it is :). Enjoy!

81

Such major milestones have been hit this month. It’s hard to believe you have almost spent more time OUTSIDE of my belly than inside. We are seeing more of your beautiful personality every single day and let me tell you this – you are an adventurous, strong willed, busy busy baby. You are giving us a real run for our money with your new crawling (yes, CRAWLING!!) skills, and there is never a dull moment. Here’s a bit of what you have been up to this month:

Sleeping-wise, we were kind of all over the place this month as a result of teething, camping trips, and overnight stays. Now that the busyness has slowed down a bit I am really working on getting back on track with getting you on a schedule, and I have to say, even just sticking pretty close to home last week has really seemed helped. You have now established a reliable nap schedule, and we are back on track with your bedtime routine. I am planning on doing a post soon about life on a schedule and how well it is working for us, but for this 8 month update regarding sleep I will just say this for now – things are still improving, but you are still not sleeping through the night. This doesn’t bother me, as long as I still get my initial 5 hour stretch, which I do the majority of the time, I am able to function just fine with you waking once or twice. Your father and I are confident that once you are ready to hit that milestone, you will do it on your own. For now, you go to bed at 7:30(ish) and sleep until I join you at around 11pm. At this point I dream feed you, and you generally sleep till 4 or 5 in the morning, eat or just take your soother, then wake up again between 7 or 8.

Eating-wise, I will also need to do a more detailed update. You are still nursed, and things are going great as usual. I am having a bit of a supply issue as of late (the past 2 days) due to the aforementioned dental surgery – the reduced calories combined with the antibiotics I am taking have lead me to worry a bit. But I am working hard to bring it back up, so we can continue on with our goal of reaching one year. I won’t give up, I promise!

87

As for your adventures in solids, we have been doing a combination between BLW and purees. All of your purees come in pouch form so you get the feeling that you are “feeding” yourself, but I think we are near the end of purees and close to having you be 100 percent self fed. You are having two solid meals a day, one at breakfast and one at dinner, and you are still nursed on demand, about 6 times a day. We are likely going to be adding a third meal this month, but in all honesty, your interest in solid foods isn’t much. You still much prefer to be breastfed and this is just fine for me as we truly follow the philosophy that “food under 1 is just for fun” around here. You have had a large selection of fruits and veggies, and are now eating proteins once a day at suppertime. Often times you will just suck on a piece of chicken and not really chew or swallow, but I have been told that you get just as much nutrients from food that way as you would should you have eaten the whole thing. Like I said, we are taking a very relaxed approached to solids and seeing as you are thriving, healthy and happy, I am confident we are doing it in the best way for you.

You now weigh 18 pounds 1 ounce so your weight gain has slowed down considerably, largely in part of your desire to motor all over the place all day. You wear size 3 diapers and 6-12 month old clothing. You are still very short for your age – 25 ¾ inches to be precise.

You grew not one, but TWO teeth this month. The first was a MISERABLE experience for both you and I. I have never seen you so unhappy. You were constantly crying, refusing to nurse due to pain, and hardly sleeping. I felt terrible all day everyday that I was unable to help more than giving you Tylenol on a consistent basis and offer you cold teething toys, freezies and face cloths to gnaw on. It was an awful 3 days, but we pushed through. Upon recommendation of your Auntie Leah, we then invested in an amber teething necklace, which SEEMS to be working like a charm! When that second tooth came it was much more manageable – you drooled a bit, had a mild fever and runny nose, and tossed and turned a bit that night. But there was no miserable crying, no pain meds needed. I truly think the necklace has done wonders for you, so it is now permanently attached to your body.

You have been crawling since the day after your 7 month post was published. You are not on all fours however – you have adopted a style of crawling which I lovingly refer to as the “bum scooch” where you moreso drag your body across the floor, generally motivated by a four legged creature. I have read that some babies simply stick with this technique – while some do move onto crawling on all fours. It has yet to be determined what you will do my dear, but I can tell you this – you can get places, and fast!

86

Since you have discovered your ability to crawl, toys such as your playmat, excer-saucer, and jumper are pretty much a thing of the past. I can put you in them for maybe 10 minutes at a time before you fuss to be on the floor, crawling and exploring on your own. You can keep yourself entertained for hours this way, especially on a nice sunny day outside! So much to see!

You still have a fascination with details – zippers, buttons, glasses and the like. You also like to pull noses, lips, eyelids, ears, and generally abuse your parents. We have begun the process of trying to correct this behaviour so when you enter preschool you are not a hair puller. You also have a fascination, as all babies do I’m told, with outlets, plugs, and wires. This gives your mother a heart attack on a consistent daily basis.

You now clap your hands, and get thoroughly excited whenever music comes on. We enrolled you in KinderMusik this month which has been a HUGE hit. You love interacting with the other babes and experimenting with instruments and moving along to music. I see a real desire within you to perform, as you love to be the centre of attention, and you demand the spotlight!

85

You also love being in the water – be it in the bathtub, your pool in the backyard, the swimming pool, or the lake. You had your first lake adventure last month whilst we were camping, and baby, you LOVED it. You squealed with such delight as we let you float on your back and splashed around. I don’t think I have ever seen you smile so big! This makes me and your Daddy EXTREMELY happy, as we are both huge water people ourselves! I look forward to many beach vacations with you!

82

You babble non-stop when you are at home, but should we ever venture out of the house, it takes you awhile to warm up to your new surroundings before you begin making any noise. This leads people to say what a well behaved and quiet little babe you are, and I nod and smile while thinking in my head “if only they saw you at home”!

You are so much fun to be around these days my little Roo. Each day holds new surprises and I wake up with a smile thinking about what may come. You have brightened my life in every way and I thank God everyday I am given this opportunity to be your mother. You are my greatest blessing.

One thought on “8 months (and a week)

  1. Those necklaces work amazingly! We got Torrin a hazlewood one and it stays on him from the moment I get him up in the morning until he goes to sleep at night – such a good investment!

Leave a Reply

