9 Months

91I would say you are now “officially” sleeping through the night – meaning 6 hours or more, about 90% of the time. I think there were one or two days this month where I had a full 8 hours sleep, which left me feeling like a whole new woman. There are still the odd rough nights, like when you caught your first cold (:(), but they are few and far between these days. This makes for a very happy baby and a well rested mama.

Your naps are also almost completely predictable, which is also making our days easier. You wake up anywhere between 7:30-9, and are ready for you first nap a mere half an hour later. This is usually just a “top off” nap – you only sleep another 30 minutes or so. I think you may cut this nap altogether in the very near future. You then wake up, eat your breakfast, have some playtime and are ready for your second nap come noon. This is your longest nap of the day, and lasts anywhere from 1.5 – 2 hours. You take one final micro-nap around 4:30 or 5, which is only another half hour. Sometimes you skip this nap, but when you do, you end up fussy and tired by 7pm. With your Daddy’s new work schedule he now comes home at 7pm, so I do what I can to ensure that you have this micro-nap so you at LEAST get an hour with him once he gets home.

You nurse 5-7 times per day and eat 3 solid meals. Your favorite foods this month include watermelon, chicken, yogurt, cheese and broccoli. Everything else is questionable as to whether you really like it, or you just simply like to play with it. You are your father’s daughter in the way that you will eat EVERYTHING off your tray, and tackle the vegetables when there are no other options left. Breakfast and supper are almost always self-fed. We spend a lot of afternoons out of the house, in which case we give you a pouch. You have no real preference between the two (self-fed and pouches); just as long as you are not being spoon-fed. You are an independent woman (or so you think).

95

You are frustrated by your limitations daily. This has caused you to show a little bit of your temperamental side this month, as referred to in this post. You have been pulling yourself up to stand on whatever you can – coffee tables, the TV stand, toys, my leg.. and you succeed about 50% of the time. The other 50% you plop down to your bum and let out an exasperated sigh.

You are officially crawling on all fours, until you get tired and revert to the good ol’ bum scooch. Either way, you are getting places, and fast.

92

You make the STRANGEST noises. My experience with babies prior to you was very limited – but this past month I have been assured by several friends and family members that the sounds you make are unique to you, and you alone. I wish I could explain these sounds to you but it would really be too difficult. All I can say is you are the master of experimenting with your own voice, coming up with noises that I don’t think many of us adults could even recreate. I hope to put together a video montage soon so I can show it you (blackmail you) with it later. You say mama and mumumum and dadadada frequently, and today, I SWEAR you said “hi” to me as I was changing you bum in the morning. But you haven’t done it since (in 6 hours) and I am now left to believe maybe I was just hearing things.

You love music. You love your KinderMusik classes and are fascinated by instruments. You may become a drummer because of your apparent passion for banging things together and making a lot of noise.

One of your favorite things is when I scoop you up in my arms and we dance around the living room.

You still only have your two bottom teeth, and I haven’t seen any real signs of teething as of late. This is fine with me as there is nothing more adorable than seeing you smile with those two adorable bottom teeth poking out.

You weigh 18 pounds 8 ounces, wear size 3 diapers, and fit comfortably in 9 month and 12 month clothing.

Your favorite days are the days we spend outside of the house, BUT as long as you are not confined to your stroller too long. You HATE being confined. I almost think you’re borderline claustrophobic – if something so much as prohibits you from rolling over, you lose your marbles. I also think this may contribute to your EXTREME aversion to your crib. Anyways, yes. You like being outside of the house but as long as you are free to roam about. This has led to us spending a lot of time at spray parks and playgrounds as of late, which is always a lot of fun, seeing as you are a total water baby.

93

We love this about you.

As for toys, you will play with anything within your grasp. You pick everything off the floor (including things that should be swept) to examine it. 9 out of 10 times it ends up in your mouth.

You will go in your jolly jumper and excer-saucer for a VERY short period of time before you demand out by screaming at me. Once again – confined spaces.

You are OBSESSED with the pets. They unfortunately, do not usually share the same sentiment. I am still dreaming of a happy house where pets and babies not just co-exist, but play together and cuddle together.

All in all, it’s been a great month of development. You are becoming less my baby and more your own little person each and everyday. We love watching you grow!
xo

94

Leave a Reply

