White Padded Walls

20130924-225158.jpg

We are getting you a helmet.

A helmet, and perhaps, a bubble made of impenetrable material with which to surround you at all times (you may, in fact, get a break from it come nighttime, but don’t hold your breath on that one).

I kid, of course. But with that being said, I am having a hard time adjusting to the amount of times per day you hurt yourself. And you are not even walking yet, for goodness sakes.

We have had no major injuries thank the heavens (and can everyone reading knock on wood/say a prayer please!!!), but this whole learning how to stand/walk thing? It is one dangerous activity. In less than 24 hours, you have scraped your toe, bonked your head and done a face plant in the carpet. I feel like a terrible mother.

I will say one thing though, you are tough as nails, McKenna. When you hurt yourself, you cry.. I pick you up and comfort you, for maybe a mere minute or two, until you push yourself out of my arms with such force and move onto the next dangerous explorative adventure. I am quite certain that in a matter of weeks, days maybe, we will be living in an empty living room. And maybe installing white padded walls to help with your mother’s sanity.

I know this is all a learning process for you, but as your mother I am having a very difficult time with not hovering over you every second of every day. I know that all I can really do at this point is ensure that I do my part to keep you safe, and help move you in the right direction. But it is hard. I just want to protect you from everything; from every cut, scrape and bruise. But I know there is likely not a single child on this earth who learned how to walk without gaining some battle wounds along the way.

I can’t even begin to think of what’s to come – the days of falling off your bike and jumping off structures in the playground are soon to come. I have no idea how I am going to deal with the first time you need stitches or (heaven forbid) a cast.

But I do promise you one thing, my sweet, brave, angelic girl.. I will always be here to scoop you in my arms and kiss the tears away. As much as you may grow to dislike it. Us mothers? Our kisses have healing powers. So you’re just going to have to learn to deal with it.

Sigh. I tell ya… This mama thing? Really not for the faint of heart.

xo

One thought on “White Padded Walls

  1. When Torrin was like 4 months I made a spaz trip to the Stollery and the ladies there LAUGHED at me! They thought it was so sweet that I rushed in there with him, while I cried more than he did. Then they told me that for a Momma of a little boy it was a “rite of passage” making your first emergency room visit =p Worst stage for babes ever! Good thing McKenna is a tough little cookie =)

Leave a Reply

