Little E, 5 Months Old

Okay Emilia, MONTHLY UPDATE TIME … and your first of many to come, hopefully!! I have to say if I thought the first 5 months of McKenna’s life went fast, I was seriously mistaken. I feel like everytime I blink you are a week older. I know that this is because I am twice as busy this time around, what with chasing a toddler around and all, but.. holy cow. How did this happen!??

Eating – I have been nursing you since Day 1 and it has been going splendidly. I had some issues with nursing your sister in the beginning, and let me tell you, that is most definitely not the case with you. You took to nursing like a champ in the delivery room and haven’t looked back since. I have intentions of nursing you for a full year and see no reason why we will not reach this goal. The one thing we do need to work on is bottles!!! You pretty much refuse them but its my fault for not giving you them more often. Your Dad and I are determined to get you used to taking one to give me a bit of freedom, and I am sure if we are persistent, you will grasp it in no time :).

Sleep – You are a great sleeper!! You take 4 orΒ 5 naps during the day that aren’t particularly long but when it comes to nighttime, you are a boss. Around 7 you start to get super fussy in anticipation of your big rest. You then sleep until 3 – 5 in the morning. We do have bad nights sometimes however, just as all babies do, but overall I can mostly count on you for a great sleep each night (thank goodness!).

Looks – You look almost exactly like your sister. Same great big blue eyes, same wispy blonde hair, same widows peak. You differ in a few slight ways – whereas your sister has adorable little dimples in her cheeks, you have a solo dimple right near your nose which may be the cutest little thing I ever did see. Your cheeks are slightly less chubby, and your skin is a little bit darker, but other than that the two of you would pass for identical twins by looking at pictures.

image

E on the left, M on the right.

You are in size 2 diapers and weigh probably around 14.5 pounds. Your sister was 15.5 at this age :).

Milestones – You can roll both ways (for some time now) and when you are on your tummy, you have already started inching forward by pushing back with your feet. I am SO NOT READY for you to crawl (once again, that whole selfish wanting you to stay a baby for life thing) but it is about to happen. You also love your excersaucer and I plan to buy you a jolly jumper because you prefer standing to laying or sitting.

Personality -You love being outside and either fall asleep immediately or blabber my ear off as your sister and I hold hands walking around our favorite lake. You never ever cry when we are outside walking so it is always my fallback should you be having a fussy day.

image

You are a super smiley baby which we love cause once again, that nose dimple of yours is oh so cute.Β You are mild tempered, and take a lot of cuddling and overcrowding from your older sister, who just adores you SO MUCH she has an issue giving you any personal space most days!! I love seeing the two of you together and hope that this bond that you are building so fast and so young will last the both of you a lifetime.

We love you so, our little E. Here’s to another month of true happiness!!!!

image

xo,

Mama

Leave a Reply

