Emilia, 7.5 months

Gosh, I am so sorry Emilia. I have really been sucking on the monthly updates! I think the brightside to all of this is that the quieter it is on the blog, the more fun we are having in real life!!

Anyways, I think the most exciting thing to share of all is that you are now CRAWLING, as of December 20! Your version of first crawls are the same as your sister’s was – reaching ahead with your arms and pulling up your body to meet. You can scooter around pretty quick using this method but you are pretty close to mastering all out crawling, on all fours. Not only that, you have now tried to pull yourself up into a friggin STANDING position when you are in the laundry basket in the tub or onto the bathtub itself. You apparently did not get the memo that this behaviour is not allowed, as you are supposed to stay my baby forever (and ever and ever and ever).

You can also sit for extended periods by yourself. We of course still prop pillows around you but I would say you do okay for upwards of ten minutes on your own! Strong girl.

image

You make a variety of noises, and love to babble, but mostly when we are at home. Occasionally you will make conversation when you are out of the house or around people other than McKenna, Dad and I but this is a rarity.

You love anything you can chew because YOU STILL HAVE NO TEETH. We have had some brutal days of teething as a result and as much as I adore your gummy smiles, I cannot wait till those bottom teeth finally arrive so you can catch a break!

YOU LOVE FOOD. I would say you have food envy in fact. I generally prepare supper in the kitchen while you sit in your bumbo and munch on fresh veggies or cheese strings, but should I be in the midst of preparing something for you that isn’t ready or HEAVEN FORBID forget to give you food while anyone else is eating, you tell me off with very, very angry baby babble. It’s pretty funny how upset you get.

image
You are also still exclusively breast fed. I keep saying I will start weaning at a year, but we will see what happens.

You are sleeping like shit lately, likely as a result of your never ending teething. We have actually started sleep training you, today being day 1, and don’t even get me started on how much it sucks. I hate hearing you cry but that being said we never sleep trained your sister and still pay for it because she barely goes to sleep without someone snuggling next to her. So, we are giving this sleep training thing a shot but I PROMISE if it doesn’t seem to be working I will cut it and fast. That being said, I think you crave more independence than your sister ever did so I THINK (and hope, and pray) that we will have an easy go at this!

Your sister is still the funniest person alive and you loooove to encourage her ridiculous antics. Thanks for that :).

image

We love you, Baby E.

Leave a Reply

